top of page
  • Shivani Ward

Letter to the Editor


I want to know what the school is doing to combat situations like this from happening again. I'm sure things are going on behind the scenes and maybe changes have been made that I'm unaware of.

This instance was public, but privately racism still occurs. Not every instance gets reported because a lot of students, myself included, do not feel the support of the school behind us. It seems that we're just supposed to pray for that person's heart and move on with our lives, but to believe that racism is an isolated issue is a privileged mindset.

I hoped the conversation at Andrews would spark conversation and change at Southern, and while I appreciated the forum on campus that followed, it did not feel like anything changed.

Southern Adventist University has a reputation for being a place of racism. A lot of the response to students voicing their frustration over the Snapchat post was met with "What do you expect? You're at Southern." "If you didn't want to deal with racism you shouldn't have gone there.”

I want to graduate in peace, but I cannot do that if nothing is done to publicly support students of color at Southern and make sure racist incidents don't keep happening at this school, whether from current students or former students.

Administration says a lot about caring about black students, but I hope they start actually showing it.

God bless,

Shivani Ward

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Letter to the Editor

Racism at Southern was something my eyes were opened to thanks to people of color educating me and professors who refuse to be silent. As a pastor, I have realized that not only is racism sin, but at

Letter to the Editor

As humans, we are attracted to specificity of narrative, the story that builds us from the womb and the shared human experiences outside of it. February is home to the narrative of black Americans. O

Letter to the Editor

Black students at Southern are emotionally and physically tired. We came to Southern for various reasons—a specific department's excellence, the rise of opportunity in this geographical area, interest

bottom of page