top of page
  • thesouthernaccent

Letter to the Editor


Racism at Southern was something my eyes were opened to thanks to people of color educating me and professors who refuse to be silent. As a pastor, I have realized that not only is racism sin, but at its very core is totally antithetical to the Gospel. The Gospel says everyone is valuable, racism says only some are. The work of racial reconciliation at Southern is closer to the start than to the finish. But it has been started because of the tireless effort of those who have fought to open our eyes to the embedded racism in Southern’s culture. I want to see systemic changes to the way Southern educates, informs against, and addresses racism, but I don’t want to see those changes at the cost of damaging or ignoring those who have worked to bring us to that point. Everyone who fights this fight should be appreciated. I never expected complete systemic transformation in one year, but I am glad to see the beginnings of it now. To Philip Warfield, all my friends, and everyone who has worked so hard: thank you. You are loved and you are valuable. Don’t give up.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Letter to the Editor

I want to know what the school is doing to combat situations like this from happening again. I'm sure things are going on behind the scenes and maybe changes have been made that I'm unaware of. This i

Letter to the Editor

As humans, we are attracted to specificity of narrative, the story that builds us from the womb and the shared human experiences outside of it. February is home to the narrative of black Americans. O

Letter to the Editor

Black students at Southern are emotionally and physically tired. We came to Southern for various reasons—a specific department's excellence, the rise of opportunity in this geographical area, interest

bottom of page