top of page
  • Natalie Boonstra

Experiencing God's love in the small things


I think it’s safe to say that the majority of us experience highs and lows in our walk with God. We have these mountaintop experiences where a prayer gets answered in a huge way or God makes a breakthrough in our struggle so we praise Him.

And there are times when we plead with God to draw nearer to us and take away our pain. It’s very easy to feel God drawing Himself close to us in these moments. But what about in the monotony of our routine and everyday life? Do we still feel Him and praise Him for loving us and creating us?

In academy, one of my close friends told me that she pictured Jesus sitting on the end of her bed each morning, ecstatic to spend time with her. That’s one of the best pictures of Jesus I’ve ever seen. Our Father and Friend is somebody who loves us so deeply He can hardly wait to spend time with us. Jesus goes with us every day. He listens, He watches, He celebrates our victories and He feels our anguish. Jesus is just waiting for you to talk to Him.

Sometimes it’s hard to feel His presence and love when we are so consumed with our routine and schedule. I am constantly listening to music or playing a show or podcast in the background while I’m doing homework, exercising and even falling asleep. But lately the Holy Spirit has been placing it on my heart to take time away from the noise so I can be more in tune with Him. I want to be more intentional about stopping and noticing the little things God puts in my life to show me how much He loves me. A beautiful sunset, a hug from a friend, a smile from a stranger, a good song; the list goes on. There are so many things we see every day but don’t actually notice.

One of my favorite verses is found in Psalm 86:5, and it says, “You, Lord, are forgiving and good, abounding in love to all who call to you.”

It doesn’t say God loves us just a little bit, or when we feel like it. He is abounding in love. He is so excited to spend time with you. Not the Instagram version of you or the put together professional. Just you, His beautiful creation. Allow yourself to disconnect from your business and your worries for just a few moments, and let God delight in showing you how much He loves you.

16 views0 comments
bottom of page