top of page
  • Jonathan Adels

Biblical decision-making


Am I studying for the right career? Should I ask her out? Is he the right person to marry? Where do I want to put down roots? Should I take a year off for mission work? Do I want to have children? How am I going to manage my finances? The life of a college student is often in a constant state of decision-making that could radically alter the trajectory of your life. How does one make the right decision?

A quick Internet search will produce many logical, step-by-step decision-making models. There is nothing wrong with using these models, and I frequently recommend them and use them myself. I appreciate systematic and logical approaches when I make important decisions. However, my faith and biblical understanding provides me with a different perspective than modern psychology. Scripture provides extensive insight, much more than I can possibly share here. Even so, the passages I share here have been invaluable to me.

On a foundational level, God is the source of all wisdom. God calls us to trust in His plan for our lives. If we are seeking His will, He gives us understanding and direction. (Prov. 2:1-15, Prov. 3:5-6, James 1:5, Psalms 119:105) I am continuously challe

nged to trust God’s sovereignty in my life. It is easy to slip into a DIY mindset for critical life decisions. However, Paul advises us to come to God in earnest humility with our requests, and He will give us peace (Phil. 4:6-7).

In addition to seeking God’s guidance, we are advised to seek the wise counsel of others. (Prov. 11:14, Prov. 27:17) Proverbs provides a great deal of counsel on seeking out wise and righteous people. Find people in your life who can be spiritual mentors and seek their advice. Find friends, family, spiritual leaders, professors and senior figures with whom you can bounce ideas and receive different perspectives.

When you are overwhelmed by the decisions of young adulthood, earnestly seek guidance from the source of all wisdom. Also, take advantage of your time here to seek advice from faculty, staff, pastors and counselors. Biblical decision making provides the missing steps in traditional decision-making models.

Image credit: Aaron Burden

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hang in there...

Now that spring break is over (too soon in my opinion), we are halfway through the semester and that much closer to graduation for a lucky few--aka not me. Yesterday, the first day back from break, I

Setting the alarm

Waking up early is something almost every college student loathes. Many of us, myself included, have gotten into the habit of rolling out of bed 10 minutes before our first class and just barely makin

bottom of page