top of page
  • Jeanine Tacaca

How I learned to have a big heart


When I was younger, my family went beyond my home. I spent afternoons at my aunt’s house and weekends at the beach with people who were “auntie, uncle, lolo or lola.” I did not question why I called my best friend’s mom “auntie,” nor did I stop myself from calling an elderly man “lolo” even when it was my first time meeting him. Sometimes, I learned to call people these endearing names before knowing their actual names.

In the Filipino culture, everyone is family, regardless of family name or where you are from in the Philippines. My dad would sit me down when I was little and explain who was my “real auntie” and who was just “auntie.” I was never confused about why these intimate family terms were used on strangers. It was just how it was and still is.

I was relieved not having to remember everyone’s name at a church function; we had a lot of parties. You could step in a room full of people and do a general “Hello auntie and uncle!” and see heads turn with smiles on everyone’s face. You would hear laughter and feel warm hugs as you were ushered toward the kitchen and dining room to partake in the buffet line. As expected, you would be encouraged to eat until you were on your third plate (with lola making extra plates for you in the kitchen to take home when you were to leave hours later).

When talking about Filipinos, three things usually come to mind: eggrolls and pancit, karaoke, and unselfish love. You get the warm feeling of belonging when embraced by the Filipino culture. You are always being given things, from food and clothing to prayers and Bible studies to endless potlucks. As cliché as it is, family is the cornerstone for the Filipino culture and the way of life for many of us.

I am proud to be Filipino and even prouder that I have had my family teach me the importance of being connected with others, reaching out to strangers and making them feel at home, providing endless respect and love for others and keeping family first—every single member.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self-love and burnt chicken nuggets

I’m a summer baby. I would spend hours outside under the sun. I adored going to the beach, capitalizing on every opportunity to dive into the salty waves. Every day, the sun would kiss my skin, and I

My “culture”

I have always found amusement in having people guess my ethnicity. It’s hard to tell exactly what I am when I take such a 50/50 split of both my parents. If I’m with just one of them, it’s hard to tel

Diversity within Blackness

As a child, you never really consider the color of your skin as an important part of your reality. However, I realized that I was black at a very young age mainly because of my parents and the differe

bottom of page